Jump to

    Agri-PV FAQs

    Farmers

    How can farmers benefit from BayWa r.e.’s Agri-PV systems?Our Agri-PV systems make the best possible use of the synergy between crop production, according to the agricultural utilisation plan involved, and the installation of solar panels. This is true especially of the important techno-ecological effects concerning the protection of crops from hail and excess sunlight, and from excess evaporation of water from the plants and soil.
    What are the advantages of a partnership with BayWa r.e.?The BayWa Group combines agriculture and energy in a unique way. More than 30 years of experience in the field of renewable energy have given us comprehensive expertise in this sector, so we view ourselves as both forerunners and friends of the green energy revolution. Our capacity for innovation, as demonstrated by our floating photovoltaic systems, has already made us a pioneer in the creation of dual land-use solutions. Now, we’re adding to this successful track record with Agri-PV. We are a full-service provider with a solid financial foundation, and we consistently adhere to the highest standards of quality. Our parent company, BayWa AG, generates annual turnover of approximately 17 billion euros and has been doing business in the agricultural sector since 1923. Furthermore, in addition to our support as an expert partner during the planning and realisation of the system, we also offer to look after the entire operations and management of the system in the long term.
    Do Agri-PV systems impair the economic viability of agricultural crops?No, because in the framework of the strategy for the agricultural use of the land, a break-even analysis must be carried out for the crops involved. The profit margins for the agricultural products must be positive. Our top priority: Every project that we implement should provide added value for you as a farmer and generate a financial return.
    Does the way the panels are mounted make it more difficult to work the land?The solar panels have to be installed and distributed across the overall project area in such a way that the land can continue to be used as it was previously, for the most part. The vertical clearance of the Agri-PV systems must comply with the laws on occupational health and safety, and be at least 2.1 meters in any event. The panels must be mounted in such a way that the land can still be worked.
    How do you ensure the optimal availability and uniformity of light for my crops?The light intensity or degree of shading and the uniformity of the light, as well as peripheral effects, are examined and configured for the needs of the specific agricultural products. The transparency of the panels that we use is adapted to the particular crop involved.
    With regard to crop changes, what restrictions am I under once the mounting system has been established and the panels have been chosen?Our specially designed transparent solar panels are ideal for berries like raspberries, currants, blueberries, strawberries and blackberries. The substructure can also be designed in such a way that cultivation in soil is possible, e.g. for perennial raspberries. In the case of cultivation in a substrate, the rotation of crops plays a role with regard to soil exhaustion. The same is true for perennial crops, such as espalier fruit or wine grapes, especially considering that these crops are in place for over 15 years and might then be replanted or grafted.
    Will my crops get enough water underneath an Agri-PV system?The availability of water, to the extent influenced by the Agri-PV system, is adapted to the growing conditions of the crop in question. We take care to ensure a uniform distribution of rainwater for the crops beneath the Agri-PV system, and this can be optimised through extra technical equipment. Beneath an Agri-PV system there will also always be some areas that aren’t covered by solar collectors.
    Is soil erosion a problem?We offer appropriate technical solutions for this and take the agricultural requirements into account. There is a certain maximum width to be respected for any row of panels. Likewise, collection basins or draining equipment can be used for rainwater. Systems for distributing rainwater can also prevent the formation of icicles in the winter.
    Can an Agri-PV system be completely removed again after it is installed?An Agri-PV system can be fully removed so that the land is restored to its original state and any options for agricultural use remain available after the system is dismantled. Both when installing the systems and dismantling them, we ensure that there are no negative consequences to the soil through compaction. To that end, we use special tyres and machinery and/or moveable tracks. We also take care that the system is installed at the proper time, outside of the growing season.
    What is the minimum height at which an Agri-PV system can be mounted above my crops?The solar panels have to be installed with a clearance of 2.1 meters so that the land can continue to be used as it was previously, for the most part.
    What foundations are laid for an Agri-PV system, and how is it anchored?There are various construction methods that allow both temporary and permanent fixture in soil or soft ground, creating a secure foundation that takes into account all of the important aspects with regard to static equilibrium and stability. In any event, the foundation is always built in a way that ensures the system is fully removable.

    Banks/Investors

    Is Agri-PV a proven technology?Agri-PV requires no new technologies. It is a new application of an existing and proven technology. The system is based on the engineering experience of BayWa r.e., which has installed more than 1.2 GWp of capacity in the field of ground-mounted PV. Maintenance is performed by the operations and maintenance team of BayWa r.e., which guarantees smooth operation throughout the entire service life of the project. In the case of an Agri-PV system from BayWa r.e., the return, risk and administrative expense are comparable to an investment in our ground-mounted photovoltaic projects, because our experienced teams look after all of the details.
    What is the average service life of an Agri-PV system?Like our ground-mounted photovoltaic projects, our Agri-PV systems have a service life of over 30 years.
    Who is responsible for the operation and maintenance of an Agri-PV system?Experts from BayWa r.e. see to the operation and maintenance. The operations and maintenance teams already have experience with wind and solar farms with a total capacity of more than 8.5 GW. Our central control room in Munich monitors all of the systems around the clock, 24 hours a day.

    Municipalities

    What effects can be expected from Agri-PV systems for the nearby population with regard to reflections (e.g. in immediate proximity to residential areas)?Considering that the panels are mounted overhead, there should be no adverse effects. On the contrary, Agri-PV systems replace the short-lived materials that were previously needed to protect plants.

    Politics

    What potential do Agri-PV systems have in Europe and worldwide?Since 2014, approximately 2,800 Agri-PV systems have been installed worldwide, which represents a total capacity of about 2.9 GWp. Most of these systems are in Asian countries such as Japan, China and South Korea. But there have been some initial installations in the United States and Europe as well. For Germany, there exists a technical potential of approximately 1.7 TWp.
    How much does energy from Agri-PV systems cost compared to energy from ground-mounted PV systems?Agri-PV is currently more expensive than ground-mounted PV systems. As the technology progresses, however, the costs will continue to fall. Until then, it would be important to have subsidies for Agri-PV, like the subsidy programmes in the Netherlands and France, in order to promote this application of photovoltaics in Europe and worldwide and be in a position to meet the great demand that exists in agriculture.
    What has to happen in order for Agri-PV to gain a foothold in Europe?In France, the total capacity of Agri-PV systems is already over 40 MWp. There, Agri-PV is being promoted through ‘innovation Request For Proposals (RFPs)’. Similar support would be urgently needed in other European countries, too, so that Europe can make full use of the huge potential in terms of land area and take full advantage of the synergies that result for the farmers and the entire population.

    Click here to know more about the high potential of Agri-PV. Would you like to know more about the political conditions on each country? Have a look on this website.

    Stephan_Schindele_70x70.jpg
    Stephan Schindele
    Head of Agri-PV
    BayWa r.e. Solar Projects GmbH
    Raphael_Lohrer_70x70_01.jpg
    Raphael Lohrer
    Contact for Media Requests
    BayWa r.e. renewable energy GmbH
    Contact

Jump to

    Agri-PV FAQs

    Landwirte

    Wie können Landwirte von Agri-PV-Anlagen der BayWa r.e. profitieren?In unseren Agri-PV-Systemen wird das Potenzial von Synergieeffekten zwischen Pflanzenproduktion, gemäß dem landwirtschaftlichen Nutzungskonzept, und der Installation von PV-Modulen ideal ausgeschöpft. Dies gilt insbesondere durch wichtige techno-ökologische Synergieeffekte zum Schutz des Ernteguts, z.B. vor Hagel und zu hoher Sonneneinstrahlung, sowie vor zu hoher Verdunstung von Wasser aus den Pflanzen und den Bodenoberflächen.
    Welche Vorteile bietet eine Partnerschaft mit BayWa r.e.?Der BayWa Konzern vereint Landwirtschaft und Energie auf einzigartige Weise. Mit mehr als 30 Jahren Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der Erneuerbaren Energien verfügen wir über umfassendes Know-how in dieser Branche. Wir sehen uns daher als Wegbereiter und Wegbegleiter der Energiewende. Unsere Innovationskraft hat uns mit Floating-PV bereits zum Vorreiter in der Erschaffung von Lösungen zur Doppelnutzung von Flächen gemacht. An diesen Erfolg knüpfen wir nun mit Agri-PV an. Wir setzen stets auf höchste Qualitätsstandards und sind Full-Service-Anbieter mit solidem finanziellem Hintergrund. Unser Mutterkonzern, die BayWa AG, generiert einen Jahresumsatz von rund 17 Milliarden Euro und ist seit 1923 u.a. im Sektor Agrar tätig. Zudem begleiten wir Sie nicht nur als kompetenter Partner während der Planung und Realisierung der Anlage, sondern bieten darüber hinaus auch langfristig die Übernahme der kompletten Betriebsführung an.
    Beeinträchtigt Agri-PV die Wirtschaftlichkeit von landwirtschaftlichen Kulturen?Nein, denn im Rahmen des Konzepts zur landwirtschaftlichen Nutzung muss eine Deckungsbeitragsrechnung für die landwirtschaftlichen Kulturen durchgeführt werden. Die Deckungsbeiträge müssen für die landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnisse positiv sein. Unser oberstes Ziel: Jedes Projekt, das wir umsetzen, soll für Sie als Landwirt einen Mehrwert und damit einen finanziellen Vorteil bieten.
    Beeinträchtigt die Aufständerung die Bearbeitbarkeit der Fläche?Die PV-Module müssen so auf der Gesamtprojektfläche installiert und verteilt werden, sodass die bisherige Nutzung der Fläche weitgehend unbeeinträchtigt bleibt. Die lichte Höhe der Anlage für Agri-PV-Anlagen muss der Arbeitsschutzgesetzgebung entsprechen, jedoch mindestens 2,1 Meter betragen. Die Aufständerung muss die Bearbeitbarkeit der Fläche sicherstellen.
    Wie wird die optimale Lichtverfügbarkeit und -homogenität für meine Kulturen sichergestellt?Die Lichtintensität bzw. Beschattung und die Lichthomogenität sowie Randeffekte werden geprüft und für die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse der landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnisse konfiguriert. Wir setzen Module mit einer individuell an die entsprechende Kultur angepassten Transparenz ein.
    Mit Blick auf den Kulturwechsel: Welchen Einschränkungen unterliege ich nach Festlegung der Aufständerung und Modulwahl?Unsere speziell angefertigten, lichtdurchlässigen PV-Module sind für Beerenarten wie Himbeeren, Johannisbeeren, Heidelbeeren, Erdbeeren und Brombeeren ideal geeignet. Auch die Unterkonstruktion kann so entwickelt werden, dass der Anbau im Boden, z.B. bei mehrjährigen Himbeeren möglich ist. Beim Anbau im Substrat spielt die Fruchtfolge in Bezug auf Bodenmüdigkeit keine Rolle. Das gleiche gilt für mehrjährige Kulturen, wie z.B. Spalierobst oder auch Wein, zumal diese Kulturen über 15 Jahre bestehen bleiben und dann ggf. neu gepflanzt oder veredelt werden.
    Bekommen meine Kulturen genug Wasser unter einer Agri-PV-Anlage?Die Wasserverfügbarkeit durch die Agri-PV-Anlage wird an die Wachstumsbedingungen der Kultur angepasst. Dabei achten wir auf eine weitgehend homogene Verteilung des Niederschlagswassers für die Kulturen unter der PV-Anlage, die durch zusätzliche technische Einrichtungen optimiert werden kann. Zudem verbleiben unter einer Agri-PV-Anlage immer gewisse Flächen, die nicht von Kollektoren bedeckt sind.
    Ist Bodenerosion ein Problem?Wir bieten hierfür entsprechende technische Lösungen an und berücksichtigen die landwirtschaftlichen Anforderungen. Es gilt eine gewisse maximale Kollektorenstreifenbreite in Ablaufrichtung. Ebenso lassen sich Auffangeinrichtungen bzw. Abtropfeinrichtungen für Regenwasser eingesetzen. Durch Systeme zur Regenwasserverteilung kann zudem die Eiszapfenbildung im Winter verhindert werden.
    Lässt sich eine Agri-PV-Anlage rückstandslos entfernen?Die Rückbaubarkeit des Agri-PV-Systems ist gewährleistet, sodass die landwirtschaftliche Nutzungsmöglichkeit nach dem Abbau der Anlage weiterhin im ursprünglichen Zustand erhalten bleibt. Sowohl beim Aufbau als auch beim Rückbau achten wir darauf, dass es nicht zu negativen Auswirkungen auf den Boden durch Verdichtung kommt. Hierzu setzen wir spezielle Reifen und Maschinen und/oder mobile Fahrstraßen ein. Auch achten wir auf den richtigen Zeitpunkt des Anlagenbaus außerhalb des Vegetationszeitraums.
    Wie hoch muss eine Agri-PV-Anlage über meinem Erntegut mindestens sein?Die Aufständerung und die PV-Module müssen in einer lichten Höhe von 2,1 Meter installiert werden, sodass die bisherige Nutzung der landwirtschaftlichen Fläche weitgehend unbeeinträchtigt bleibt.
    Wie wird eine Agri-PV-Anlage verankert und fundamentiert?Es gibt verschiedene Konstruktionsweisen, die sowohl temporäre als auch permanente Fixierungen im Lockergestein und Boden ermöglichen und so einen sicheren Baugrund schaffen, der sämtliche statische und standsicherheitsrelevante Aspekte berücksichtigt. In jedem Fall wird die Fundamentierung so gebaut, dass eine rückstandslose Rückbaubarkeit gewährleistet ist.

    Banken/Investoren

    Ist Agri-PV eine bewährte Technologie?Für Agri-PV bedarf es keiner neuen Technologie, sondern nur einer neuen Art der Anwendung der bestehenden und bewährten PV-Technologien. Das System basiert auf der Konstruktionserfahrung von BayWa r.e. von mehr als 1,2 GWp im Bereich PV-Freiflächenanlagen. Die Instandhaltung übernimmt das O&M-Team von BayWa r.e. und gewährleistet somit einen reibungslosen Betrieb über die gesamte Lebensdauer des Projekts. Rendite, Risiko und Verwaltungsaufwand sind bei einer Agri-PV-Anlage von BayWa r.e. mit einer Investition in unsere PV-Freiflächenprojekte vergleichbar, da sich unsere erfahrenen Teams um alle Einzelheiten kümmern.
    Wie hoch ist die durchschnittliche Lebensdauer einer Agri-PV-Anlage?Unsere Agri-PV-Anlagen haben ähnlich wie PV-Freiflächenprojekte eine Lebensdauer von über 30 Jahren.
    Wer ist für den Betrieb und die Instandhaltung einer Agri-PV-Anlage zuständig?Den Betrieb und die Instandhaltung übernehmen Experten des BayWa r.e. O&M-Teams, die bereits Erfahrung mit Wind-und Solarparks mit einer Gesamtkapazität von mehr als 8,5 GW haben. Unsere Leitstelle in München gewährleistet eine 24-Stunden-Überwachung aller Anlagen.

    Kommunen

    Welche Auswirkungen im Hinblick auf Reflektionen sind durch Agri-PV-Anlagen für die Bevölkerung (z.B. in direkter Nachbarschaft zu Wohngebieten) zu erwarten?Durch die Aufständerung in lichter Höhe ist mit keiner Beeinträchtigung zu rechnen. Im Gegenteil ersetzen Agri-PV-Anlagen kurzlebige Materialien, die zum Schutz der Pflanzen bisher nötig waren.

    Politik

    Welches Potenzial haben Agri-PV-Anlagen in Europa und weltweit?Seit 2014 wurden weltweit circa 2.800 Agri-PV-Systeme installiert, was einer Gesamtkapazität von circa 2,9 GWp entspricht. Die meisten dieser Systeme befinden sich in asiatischen Ländern wie Japan, China und Südkorea. Aber auch in den USA und Europa hat es bereits erste Installationen gegeben. Für Deutschland besteht ein technisches Potenzial von ca. 1,7 TWp.
    Wie viel kostet Energie aus Agri-PV-Anlagen im Vergleich zu Freiflächenanlagen?Agri-PV ist momentan teurer als eine PV-Freiflächenanlage. Die Kosten werden mit dem technischen Fortschritt aber weiter sinken. Bis dahin wäre eine Inkludierung der Agri-PV zur Förderung innerhalb des EEG wichtig, ähnlich der Förderprogramme in den Niederlanden und in Frankreich, um diese Anwendungsart der PV auch in Deutschland voranzutreiben und der großen Nachfrage seitens der Landwirtschaft gerecht werden zu können.
    Was muss geschehen, damit Agri-PV in Europa Fuß fassen kann?In Frankreich gibt es bereits über 40 MWp Gesamtkapazität an Agri-PV. Dort wird Agri-PV durch Innovationsausschreibungen gefördert. Eine entsprechende Unterstützung wäre in anderen europäischen Ländern dringend erforderlich, damit das riesige Flächenpotenzial und die synergetischen Vorteile, die sich für die Landwirte und die gesamte Bevölkerung ergeben, voll ausgeschöpft werden können.

    Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen über das Potenzial von Agri-PV.  Möchten Sie mehr über die politischen Voraussetzungen für Agri-PV in EU-Ländern wissen? Besuchen Sie diese Website.

    Stephan_Schindele_70x70.jpg
    Stephan Schindele
    Head of Agri-PV
    BayWa r.e. Solar Projects GmbH
    Raphael Lohrer
    Ansprechpartner Presse
    BayWa r.e. renewable energy GmbH
    Kontakt