Jump Menu

    Floating PV

    Transforming unused bodies of water into highly efficient green power plants.

    The next generation of high-yield green power production

    Floating PV offers huge potential

    From disused coal quarries and mineral extraction pits to reservoirs, Floating PV offers tremendous potential for contributing to the renewable energy transition across Europe. It diffuses the heated discussion over land use conflict throughout European countries and enables owners of artificial lakes to make double use of their water surfaces.

    The higher potential yields thanks to the water cooling effect, the easy installation and the huge surface areas available compensate for the slightly higher installation costs of Floating PV systems compared to ground-mounted solar systems of the same size. For installations bigger than 50 MWp, Floating PV will soon be viable in Southern Europe without the need for subsidies or government support. For smaller installations or more northern regions such as Germany, tenders with a focus on innovation and technology would be a likely route to further pave the way for Floating PV.

      Patent-registered, state-of-the-art Floating PV technology

      BayWa r.e. is leading the European market in transforming unused bodies or water into highly efficient green power plants. As a full-service provider, we handle everything from project development, planning, procurement and financing, through to turnkey construction and operational management.

      Our services:

      • Planning and technical consulting
      • Reporting and analysis 
      • Project development
      • Procurement from long-term partners
      • Turnkey construction
      • Financing
      • Direct marketing
      • Power purchase agreements (PPAs)
      • Operational management

      A market leader in Europe

      Having already successfully realised the 8.4 MWp Tynaarlo Floating PV project in the Netherlands, we have started construction of the 14.5 MWp Sekdoorn project and will soon start construction of further Floating PV projects, which will be amongst the largest in Europe.

      Drawing on our extensive global engineering and technical expertise, our customised, VDE-certified system design in combination with the patent-registered Zim Float subconstruction system is unlike anything else available on the market.

      Introducing the pioneering Zim Float system

      Having determined that no existing Floating PV system on the market met BayWa r.e. standards, we partnered with the renowned engineering experts at Zimmermann PV-Stahlbau GmbH to design our own.

      The result of that partnership is the state-of-the-art, highly versatile, patent-registered, large-scale Zim Float system. Its integrated system design is based on a fully certified electrical concept. Its integrated inverter boats, maintenance walkways, cable ducts, wave barriers and the floating transformer station make this system unique and allow for the highest stability, long life and easy maintenance. The high module occupancy rate uses the minimum possible space. It is a fully scalable system, adaptable to project size and external conditions.

      The Zim Float system at a glance


      Properties 

      • BayWa r.e.'s highly standardised mechanical system and the integrated VDE-certified electrical system – both have been perfectly adapted for the use on water
      • Capable of withstanding high wind, waves and snow, according to the EN Code
      • Solid steel beams with zinc, aluminium and magnesium coating for maximum corrosion prevention
      • Integrated inverter boats, walkways, cable ducts, wave barrier and VDE certified floating transformer station
      • Bankable system
      • Pontoons are made of durable HDPE which is safe to be used on drinking water
      • Minimum footprint on the water
      • All components are IP 65 certified and the cables are even suitable for underwater installations
      • Suitable for use on any fresh water*

      *However, to avoid adverse effects on quality of life for nearby communities, we only install Floating PV on artificial waterbodies, such as a sand extraction ponds, quarry lakes, irrigation reservoirs, hydroelectric dams, water treatment plants and freshwater reservoirs, aquaculture ponds, and even floodplains

      Advantages

      • Additional yield thanks to the water cooling effect 
      • Easy maintenance
      • Fewer losses due to shorter cables
      • Prefabricated cable strings guarantee highest electrical safety and reliability
      • Significant sunlight penetration and free water movement underneath the system
      • No harm to water quality or marine- and bird-life
      • Reduces evaporation
      • Cables protected from long-term water contact and direct sunlight
      • No extra space needed onshore – only one cable leads to shore
      • High-energy density per hectare
      • Easy to install (majority of assembly done onshore)
      • Easily scalable to multi megawatts
      • Solid anchoring against stormy weather

      The ultimate stability test

      Quote

      With Zim Float we have not only eliminated the typical problems of existing floating systems, but have also transferred our proven VDE-certified system design for ground-mounted installations to a water-based application. Our mission is to build subsidy-free floating parks in the coming years.

      Edgar Gimbel, Technical Director of BayWa r.e. Solar Projects GmbH and leading force in the development of Zim Float

      Quote

      We are proud to be part of this innovative project and are happy that the part of our water surface without sand extraction activities now offers new benefits. This development fits in perfectly with our ambition to be climate neutral by 2030. We look forward to many years of good cooperation with BayWa r.e. as a professional, reliable partner.

      Gerard Hoiting, LMB Roelofs BV, owner of Tynaarlo sand pit

      Do you want to know more?

      Contact

      DERE-Toni_Weigl-70x70.jpg
      Toni Weigl
      Project Manager Floating
      BayWa r.e. Solar Projects GmbH
      Contact

Jump Menu

    Floating PV

    Hocheffiziente PV-Anlagen auf ungenutzten Wasserflächen.

    Die nächste Generation renditestarker Grünstromanlagen

    Floating PV bietet enormes Potenzial

    Von stillgelegten Braunkohle- und Sandgruben bis hin zu Stauseen können schwimmende Photovoltaikanlagen – Floating PV-Anlagen - auf ungenutzten Wasserflächeneinen wichtigen Beitrag zur Energiewende in Europa leisten und der hitzigen Debatte über die Landnutzung in den EU-Mitgliedstaaten den Wind aus den Segeln nehmen. Eigentümer künstlicher Seen können mit der Technologie doppelt Nutzen aus ihren Wasserflächen ziehen. 

    Die enormen Vorteile durch die zusätzliche Wasserkühlung, die vergleichsweise einfache Installation und das große Flächenpotenzial machen die etwas höheren Installationskosten schwimmender PV-Anlagen im Vergleich zu Freiflächenanlagen gleicher Größe schnell bezahlt. In Südeuropa ist Floating PV für Flächen ab 50 Hektar schon bald ohne Subventionen oder staatliche Förderung realisierbar. Für kleinere Anlagen oder nördlichere Regionen wie Deutschland können Ausschreibungen mit Schwerpunkt auf Innovation und Technologie ein geeignetes Mittel sein, um das Konzept Floating Solar stärker zu etablieren.  

      Modernste, patentierte Floating-Technologie

      BayWa r.e. hat europaweit die Nase vorn, wenn es darum geht, aus ungenutzten Wasserflächen hocheffiziente schwimmende PV-Anlagen zu machen. Als Full-Service-Anbieter übernehmen wir den gesamten Prozess von der Projektentwicklung, Planung, Beschaffung und Finanzierung über die schlüsselfertige Errichtung bis hin zur Inbetriebnahme und Betriebsführung. 

      Unsere Leistungen:

      • Planung und technische Beratung 
      • Reporting und Analysen 
      • Projektentwicklung
      • Beschaffung bei langjährigen Partnern 
      • Schlüsselfertige Errichtung 
      • Finanzierung  
      • Direktvermarktung des Stroms 
      • Stromabnahmeverträge 
      • Betriebsführung

      Marktführer in Europa

      Nach der erfolgreichen Realisierung einer Floating-PV-Anlage (kurz auch: FPV für floating photovoltaics) mit einer Leistung von 8,4 MWp im niederländischen Tynaarlo haben wir mit der Umsetzung eines weiteren Projekts in Sekdoorn mit einer Kapazität von 14,5 MWp begonnen. In Kürze erfolgt der Baustart für eine weitere FPV-Anlage, die nach Fertigstellung zu den größten in Europa zählen wird.  

      Dank unserer umfassenden weltweiten Erfahrung und Fachkompetenz ist unser maßgeschneidertes, VDE-zertifiziertes Systemdesign in Verbindung mit dem zum Patent angemeldeten Unterbausystem Zim Float einzigartig auf dem Markt.

      Das innovative Zim Float-System

      Nachdem wir feststellen mussten, dass auf dem Markt kein FPV-System erhältlich ist, das den Standards von BayWa r.e. gerecht wird, haben wir kurzerhand den renommierten Technologieexperten Zimmermann PV-Stahlbau GmbH mit der Entwicklung einer eigenen Unterbaukonstruktion für schwimmenden Solaranlagen beauftragt. 

      Das Ergebnis dieser Zusammenarbeit ist das moderne, großflächig einsetzbare und patentierte Unterbausystem Zim Float. In dieses haben wir das bewährte BayWa r.e. Systemdesign mit vollständig zertifiziertem elektrotechnischem Konzept integriert. Ebenso sind schwimmende Wechselrichter, Geh- und Wartungsstege, Kabelkanäle, Wellenbrecher und eine schwimmende, VDE-zertifizierte Trafostation integriert. Dieses einzigartige Konzept sorgt für eine besonders hohe Stabilität, eine lange Lebensdauer, sowie eine einfache und sichere Instandhaltung. Durch die dichte Anordnung der Module ergibt sich ein minimaler Platzbedarf. Das vollständig skalierbare System lässt sich an verschiedenste Projektanforderungen und Umgebungsbedingungen anpassen. 

      Das Zim Float-System auf einen Blick:


      Merkmale  

      • BayWa r.e.‘s hochstandardisiertes, mechanisches System, sowie das bewährte, integrierte VDE-zertifizierte elektrische System, wurden perfekt für den Einsatz auf dem Wasser angepasst und in die Unterkonstruktion integriert 
      • Widerstandsfähig gegen starken Wind, Wellen und Schnee gemäß EN-Code 
      • Massive Stahlträger mit Zink, Aluminium und Magnesiumbeschichtung für maximale Korrosionsvermeidung 
      • Integrierte Wechselrichterboote, Kabelkanäle, Wellenbarrieren 
      • VDE-zertifizierte schwimmende Transformatorstation 
      • Stabile Gehwege für Wartungsarbeiten  
      • Bankfähiges System  
      • Pontons bestehen aus strapazierfähigem HDPE, das für die Verwendung in Trinkwasser geeignet ist
      • Minimaler Platzbedarf auf dem Wasser
      • Alle Komponenten sind IP 65 zertifiziert und die Kabel sind sogar für Unterwasserinstallationen geeignet 
      • Geeignet für alle Arten von Süßwasser *

      * Um negative Auswirkungen auf die Lebensqualität anliegender Gemeinden zu vermeiden, installieren wir schwimmenden Solaranlagen ausschließlich auf künstlichen Gewässern wie Sandgruben, Steinbruchseen, Bewässerungsbecken, auf Staudämmen, auf Wasseraufbereitungsanlagen und Süßwasserspeichern, auf Aquakulturteichen oder auch in Auen. 

      Vorteile 

      • Zusätzlicher Mehrertrag durch Kühleffekt des Wassers
      • Einfache und sichere Wartung 
      • Weniger Verluste durch kürzere Kabel 
      • Garantierte höchste elektrische Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit durch vorgefertigte Kabelstränge 
      • Lediglich moderate Schattenbildung und freie Wasserbewegung unter dem System 
      • Keine Beeinträchtigung der Wasserqualität oder der Fisch- und Vogelwelt 
      • reduziert Wasserverdunstung 
      • Kein zusätzlicher Platz an Land erforderlich, nur ein Kabel führt zum Ufer 
      • Hohe Energiedichte pro Hektar 
      • Einfach zu installieren (der Großteil der Montage erfolgt an Land) 
      • Einfache Skalierbarkeit auf mehrere Megawatt 
      • Solide Verankerung, sturmresistent

      Der ultimative Stabilitätstest

      Quote

      Mit Zim Float haben wir nicht nur die typischen Probleme bestehender schwimmender PV-Systeme beseitigt, sondern auch unser bewährtes VDE-zertifiziertes Systemdesign für Freiflächenanlagen wassertauglich gemacht. Unser Ziel ist es, in den kommenden Jahren subventionsfreie Floating-Solarparks zu bauen.

      Edgar Gimbel, Technischer Direktor bei BayWa r.e. Solar Projects GmbH und führende Kraft hinter der Entwicklung von Zim Float

      Quote

      Wir sind stolz, Teil dieses innovativen Projekts zu sein und freuen uns, dass der Bereich unserer Wasserfläche, in dem wir keinen Sand mehr gewinnen, jetzt sinnvoll genutzt wird. Diese Entwicklung passt perfekt zu unserem Anspruch, bis 2030 klimaneutral zu sein. Wir freuen uns auf eine langjährige gute Zusammenarbeit mit BayWa r.e. als unser professioneller und stabiler Partner.

      Gerard Hoiting, LMB Roelofs BV, Verpächter der Sandgrube Tynaarlo

      Möchten Sie weitere Informationen?

      Kontakt

      DERE-Toni_Weigl-70x70.jpg
      Toni Weigl
      Project Manager Floating
      BayWa r.e. Solar Projects GmbH
      Kontakt